For a bachelor in a shared room in Dubai, the tiffin dabba is not a convenience. It is the food budget. The man who does not cook does not choose between restaurants — he chooses between mess plans, and the plan decides what he spends, what he eats, and which day leaves him at a cafeteria counter anyway.
This article reads the providers’ own plan pages the way a worker would before handing over a month’s money: what the plan actually buys, which days it skips, and what full seven-day cover really costs once Sundays are added back. Every price is a provider’s own published price, pulled on 23 October 2026. Weekly prices turned into monthly figures are marked as calculations. Where a provider publishes no price, this article says so and quotes nothing.
How much does a monthly tiffin package cost in Dubai?
Published monthly tiffin plans in Dubai run AED 199–899 a month — a spread that needs its warning label, because the plans buy different months. One provider’s month is 26 stated meals; another’s, about 52; a third does not say how many meals its month contains. Read the basis on every row before the price.
| Provider | Plan | Price | Basis — what a “month” means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tayb Meals (Kerala, South & North Indian menus) | 1 meal/day | AED 199/month | Mon–Sat delivery; provider’s own stated cost ≈AED 5–8/meal |
| Tayb Meals | 2 meals/day | AED 359/month | Mon–Sat, ≈52 meals = AED 6.90/meal (calc.) |
| Tayb Meals | 3 meals/day | AED 459/month | Mon–Sat; the breakfast-inclusive tier |
| MealsKart (Kerala / South Indian) | 1 meal/day (“1 Time”) | AED 250/month | Free delivery; meals per month NOT stated — no per-meal figure exists |
| MealsKart | 2 meals/day | AED 350/month | As above |
| MealsKart | 3 meals/day | AED 450/month | As above |
| Ghar ki Thali (pure veg, palm-oil-free) | 1-time (lunch or dinner) | AED 449/month | 26 meals stated = AED 17.3/meal (provider’s own figure) |
| Ghar ki Thali (pure veg, palm-oil-free) | 2-time (lunch & dinner) | AED 899/month | 52 meals stated = AED 17.3/meal (provider’s own figure) |
| Tiffin Service Dubai | Essential Lunch — veg, 5 days | AED 70/week | Weekly prepaid, delivery included; ≈AED 303/month (calc.) |
| Tiffin Service Dubai | Lunch & Dinner — veg, 7 days | AED 196/week | Weekly prepaid; ≈AED 849/month (calc.); AED 14.00/meal flat |
Tiffin Service Dubai is the different model in the table: it prices by the week, not the month — “no monthly payment or automatic renewal” — so the monthly figures above are arithmetic (weekly × 52 ÷ 12, about 4.33 weeks), not prices it publishes. Its per-meal price is flat across day counts: a vegetarian lunch is AED 14.00 a meal whether you buy five days or seven (non-veg, AED 20.00) — no weekly-volume discount. Its single trial meal is AED 50 — 3.6 times the per-meal cost of its own weekly veg lunch plan, priced as a one-off delivery, not a discounted sample. Breakfast and Sunday service require area confirmation before payment; pause and cancel terms are not published (a gap).
Guides quote a “typical” Dubai tiffin price above this published market. SetupDubai.business — a guide for people starting a tiffin business, not a provider — puts typical lunch-only tiffin at AED 350–450 a month and lunch-plus-dinner at AED 600–700: above Tayb’s and MealsKart’s actual published prices for the same thing (199 and 250 for one meal; 359 and 350 for two). Its “typical” single meal — veg AED 15–18, non-veg AED 18–25 — cannot be reconciled with Tayb’s own AED 5–8 a meal at all.
And some names publish the service but no price. Trichy Murugan, a Tamil walk-in restaurant mess in Al Quoz and Jafza, offers 1-time, 2-time and 3-time monthly mess plans on its own site — and no prices anywhere on it; its advice is to try a few walk-in meals first, then ask. Mealato Kitchen (Al Qusais, running since 2020, free delivery, a published 40-plus-dish menu book) puts no plan prices in retrievable text on its site. Deli Bite Catering shows a Classic Meal Plan “from AED 350/month”, but its pages were last updated in January 2023 and publish no plan table. Gaps in the evidence, stated as gaps. The restaurant ladder these plans compete with is priced dish by dish in our desi food in Dubai guide.
What do you actually get — how many meals, which days, veg or non-veg?
On the fully published plans: Monday to Saturday, your choice of meals, veg and non-veg at the same price — and Sunday is where every monthly plan stops. One sells a priced Sunday; one sells no breakfast; one does not publish its days.
Tayb Meals is the most fully published plan here. All plans deliver Monday to Saturday. Sunday is a paid add-on: lunch only, AED 30 a month; lunch and dinner, AED 50 a month. Breakfast is not available on Sundays at any price — the one thing its money cannot buy. Its Starter Plan is a two-day trial — payment due on day two; if not satisfied, you cancel and pay only for meals received. Deliveries pause or hold via WhatsApp, with no published pause limit; cancelling takes one working day’s notice. The menu is yours, not theirs: a dish chosen per day at registration, changeable weekly, from a menu book of 300-plus dishes (the provider’s claim) spanning Kerala, South Indian and North Indian menus, Filipino also named — matta rice meals, parotta, puttu, dosa among them. Veg and non-veg sit on the same plan at the same price, with a Veg Only filter. Portions are not published; per-area delivery times sit behind an interactive picker, so no quotable clock window exists.
MealsKart lets you choose which meals: 1 Time is any one of breakfast, lunch or dinner; 2 Time is any two; 3 Time is all three. Its published customisation is genuinely detailed — no-beef, no-fish and less-spicy options, a matta rice option, a chapati preference, set at subscription. Named dishes are Kerala and South Indian — chicken biriyani, sadya / chattichoru, appam and stew, dosa and sambar among them. Delivery is free, and the 3 Time plan promises a “special weekend menu”. But the plan’s skeleton is unpublished: delivery days are not stated, meals per month are not stated, and no trial, pause, cancel or multi-month terms appear anywhere on the site. “Flexible monthly plan” is the whole of its published flexibility. Its AED 350 buys a promise whose coverage cannot be checked from the page.
Ghar ki Thali sells a different product — 100% pure vegetarian, North Indian home-style, cooked only in cold-pressed oils; “never palm oil” is the brand’s core claim. Plans are lunch and/or dinner only: no breakfast exists, and no Sunday service or Sunday add-on is published. Its multi-month plans carry no term discount: three months of the 1-time plan is AED 1,349 against 3 × 449 = 1,347 — AED 2 above paying monthly; six months is AED 2,699 against 2,694, AED 5 above; the 2-time terms sit the same AED 2–5 above theirs, and the per-meal rate is 17.3 on every term. The discount that actually works is a checkout coupon — GKTWIN10, 10% off, which takes a 1-time month to AED 404.10 (calc.). Longer plans buy a Vacation Freeze — up to 15 days, twice, on 3- and 6-month plans (30 days total on the 6-month); the one-month plan’s freeze terms are not published.
Its own site contradicts itself in three places, and a buyer should see all three before paying — this article resolves none of them. Its cancellation rate is AED 22 a meal in its hero banner and one policy block, AED 14 a meal in another policy block. Its marketing lines promise plans “starting AED 399 a month”, but no 399 plan exists in its plan table — the cheapest is 449. And its free bonus thali is promised once a month in the plan cards and FAQ, every single week in the VIP privileges block, and as “6 free bonus thalis (once in a month)” on the 6-month plan. Three versions of one bonus, two of one rate, one price that does not exist — the provider’s to fix, not ours to pick from.

What lands in the box differs as much as the price. Tiffin Service Dubai publishes a complete seven-day menu — the only full week in this research — and an exact box: 4 rotis brushed with ghee and foil-wrapped, sabzi, dal, rice 180–200 g, kachumber salad 60 g, a 15 g pickle sachet, the structure fixed while the dishes rotate. Breakfast is vegetarian on both its plan types; non-veg means chicken every day except one fish — Sunday dinner. Tayb publishes no portions and no fixed week: a large rotating dish library you choose from, every composition claim the provider’s own. Ghar ki Thali publishes one sample thali day — Jodhpuri Pitor, Mix Veg, four soft phulkas, Peas Pulao, Dal Tadka, fresh salad. A full published week from it does not exist.
Which areas do tiffin services deliver to — and does the area change the price?
No provider in this research publishes an area-based price difference — and one states outright that a newly opened route charges “the same price”. What changes by area is not the price. It is whether the service reaches you at all.
Tayb publishes one price list for the whole city — “all across Dubai, no zone restrictions” — and names about 35 areas: Dubai Marina, JLT, Business Bay, Downtown, Discovery Gardens, Jebel Ali, JVC, Arabian Ranches, Al Barsha, Al Quoz, Karama, Bur Dubai, Deira, International City, Silicon Oasis and more, plus a claim of “110+ more areas”. Ghar ki Thali markets “free delivery across Dubai” on the same page that names just six free-delivery zones: Bur Dubai, Al Mankhool, Al Karama, Downtown Dubai, Business Bay, Oud Metha & Satwa. Outside those zones, its coverage notice invites you to contact it directly “to get a decent discount” — out-of-zone service by arrangement, on unpublished terms. Tiffin Service Dubai runs 11 named daily routes: Bur Dubai, Mankhool, Karama, Oud Metha, Deira, Al Rigga, Za’abeel, Jaddaf, Business Bay, Downtown Dubai, DIFC. Other areas open when ten people in the same area register — so the next section’s two cheapest full-coverage options differ exactly here: Tayb claims the whole city today; Tiffin Service Dubai opens new areas ten registrations at a time. MealsKart serves “selected Dubai areas” and publishes no area list at all — you type your area into its on-site checker or ask on WhatsApp.
For labour camps and staff accommodation, the published mechanics exist and the price does not. Tiffin Service Dubai runs a separate bulk offer: two vegetarian meals a day (dal, rice, sabzi, roti), both delivered together once a day in bulk containers, the team serving itself, with a minimum order of 100 meals a day — fifty people on two meals. The price is “competitive bulk pricing” by tailored quote. MealsKart’s staff meal packages are likewise unpriced. No named source publishes a per-worker camp mess price, so none is quoted here: camp feeding is quote-only, and any “AED X per worker” figure would be invented.
Tiffin, cooking or cafeteria — which is cheapest for full 7-day coverage?
Full coverage means lunch and dinner, seven days a week — about 60 meals a month — for one person who cooks nothing. On that like-for-like basis the cheapest full cover is a Monday-to-Saturday plan with its Sunday bought back: AED 409 a month. The home staples floor sits lower, at AED 209, but it buys ingredients, not delivered meals. Every row restates its own basis.
| Option (one person, lunch + dinner, 7 days) | AED/month | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Tayb 2 meals/day + Sunday add-on | 409 | 359 + 50 Sunday lunch & dinner; ≈60–62 meals ≈ AED 6.6–6.8/meal (calc.); the only monthly plan with a priced Sunday |
| MealsKart 2 Time | 350 — not ranked | Price published; delivery days and meals/month NOT published — coverage unverifiable |
| Tiffin Service Dubai Lunch & Dinner, 7 days — veg | ≈849 (calc.) | 196/week × 52 ÷ 12; AED 14.00/meal; weekly prepaid — no monthly plan exists |
| Ghar ki Thali 2-time + cafeteria Sundays | ≈1,019–1,219 (calc.) | 899 + 4 Sundays × 2 meals at the cafeteria band AED 15–40; the provider sells no Sunday add-on and no breakfast |
| Tiffin Service Dubai Lunch & Dinner, 7 days — non-veg | ≈1,213 (calc.) | 280/week × 52 ÷ 12; AED 20.00/meal |
| Eating out — cafeteria band, 2 meals/day | 900–2,400 | 60 meals × AED 15–40 full-meal band (Where To Eat Dubai) |
| Cooking at home — staples core | 209 | Ingredients floor only; scope stated below |

The ratios, with the seams stated. Tayb’s full coverage (409) is 2.0 times the home staples core (209) — but the two do not buy the same month: the core is rice, flour, lentils, chickpeas, beans, sugar, oil, milk, eggs, whole chicken, bread and yoghurt at the ministry platform’s lowest recorded prices, priced item by item in our groceries in Dubai guide, and it excludes fresh produce, red meat and fish, tea and spices — none with consistent October 2026 prices. The tiffin excludes breakfast. The premium veg route’s full-coverage equivalent (≈1,019–1,219) costs 2.5–3.0 times the budget mess’s 409 for the same shape — the price of the pure-veg, palm-oil-free positioning, before its 10% checkout coupon, which would take the equivalent to ≈AED 929–1,129 (calc.). Eating out covers Sundays and breakfasts without thinking, at 2.2–5.9 times the Tayb full-coverage cost — what the band buys at the counter is priced in our guide to eating out in Dubai.
Breakfast changes the winner’s shape but not the gap. Tayb’s 3-meal plan (459, breakfast included, Monday to Saturday) plus the Sunday add-on (50) comes to AED 509 a month (calc.) — and still leaves Sunday breakfast unsold: Tayb states it is not available on Sundays at any price. That is the published market’s one structural hole. Tiffin Service Dubai’s three-meal, seven-day plan closes even that: 266 a week vegetarian, about AED 1,153 a month (calc.); 350 a week non-veg, about AED 1,517 a month (calc.) — a full 21-meal week at two to three times the Tayb route. Eating out three meals a day at the cafeteria band runs AED 1,350–3,600 a month (calc.). The arithmetic is plain: pick the plan by the days it covers, not the headline price — then run the real total against your salary in the Savings Calculator.
Last updated: 23 October 2026
Sources: The providers’ own published sites and plan pages — Tayb Meals (taybmeals.com); MealsKart (mealskart.ae); Ghar ki Thali (gharkithali.ae); Tiffin Service Dubai (tiffinservice.ae); Deli Bite Catering (delibitecatering.com — pages last updated January 2023, no plan table published). Trichy Murugan Restaurant and Mealato Kitchen are named as publishing their service without prices. SetupDubai.business is quoted only as a guide for people starting tiffin businesses, never as a provider price. Cafeteria band: Where To Eat Dubai 2026 cheap-eats guide, via our cost of living research. Home-cooking figure: UAE Ministry of Economy & Tourism Essential Goods Prices Platform, via our groceries research. Weekly-to-monthly conversions use × 52 ÷ 12 and are calculations, marked as such wherever they appear. Figures pulled 23 October 2026.

